Reaction score
Website
www.valeriemartinphotography.ca
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi All - I have been an aspiring pet photographer for some time now and have noticed that someone else has the same business name Valérie Martin Photography (which is my full name). The only difference is I put an accent on the "e" in my name since I am French. I am wondering if I would down the line run into any legal issues?

This is my website: Ottawa Pet Photographer │Valérie Martin Photography

This is hers: http://www.valerie-martin-photography.com/

Thanks!
Valérie

I am wondering if I would down the line run into any legal issues?
Difficult to say since I practice law only on the internet. :icon_jokercolor:

Have you done anything to register your business name and protect your images? Have you conferred with a real lawyer about setting up your business? Are you required to be licensed in your community? Do you regularly file your tax returns?

All of the usual regulations in effect will have your name, address, tax I.D., and possibly other differentiating identification linked to only you, so the fact that you both have the same name will not (in my opinion) create a problem.

This legal advice is worth every penny you paid for it. :)

Let's put it this way: My registered business name is, "John's Photography". Toss that at Mr. Google and see what returns. In most countries, unless a business has a "unique" name, such as "Xerox" which can be trade-marked, they have no claim on exclusivity, further, businesses named based on one or more of the principles can have no claim against each other (You could have five different legal firms all named, "Smith, Smith & Smith" on the same street).

I am wondering if I would down the line run into any legal issues?
Difficult to say since I practice law only on the internet. :icon_jokercolor: