Buying A Camera

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by Soul Rebel, Feb 3, 2006.

1. Soul Rebel

Soul Rebel TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    If I had the money that I wish I had I would be purchasing the Olympus E500 or the Nikon D50. I dont have that kind of cash though. There is a chance that I could have a 300 dollar budget but since I am very new at this I dont know where to start looking.

If you guys had 300 bucks to spend on a digital camera what would you get? I want something that will give me pictures close to what I could take with the cameras I mentioned and something that is not going to be very, very outdated in a year.

Right now I have a 3.2 MP FujiFilm S300 that takes decent photos but I would like to take a step up.

2. bobaab

bobaab TPF Noob!

Well, I can give a recommendation for a point and shoot, if you are considering it. I recommend the Nikon line up. My dad has the Nikon 5200 (5.2 MP point and shoot) and I actually really enjoy using it. The quality is really good, it turns on FAST, small in size but fits well in my hands, and overall I really think the camera is good.

here's some sample pictures for you to look at:

Lowlight Landscapes (all shots handheld)
    http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/20766843/
    http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/20729752/
    http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/20729630/

Close up Example:
    http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/24033023/

I'm only giving this recommendation because the newer series is under $300 and I actually do think it's a very versatile camera. Good luck choosing!

3. Soul Rebel

Soul Rebel TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Im not too sure about the point and shoot. I really like the D50 style. Not sure what you would call that though.

4. bobaab

bobaab TPF Noob!