Buying my first lighting kit: flash or strobes?

Halnex

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
This is my first time buying a lighting kit and my budget is at 800$.

Mainly I will be using it for fashion/glamour and general portraits.
I'm using Nikon D800.

Should I go with Flash or Strobes?
Which one is more effective with portraits?

Should I be interested in a flash ring as well?
What benefits could it bring to my photos?

Thank you.

strobes.

How come?

I'm new to this and would love to know more about your experience with strobes vs flash.

The modeling lights, fast recycling, and ease of attaching modifiers are the three main advantages of studio flash over portable speedlights. Being able to SEE what your lighting effects are, at all times, in real-time, is a huge advantage for the beginning lighting student. Being able to SEE what you are doing with a continuous feedback loop is a major deal, until you develop a LOT of ability with light placement.

Speedlights (generally referred to as flash) are a design aimed around portability and convenience. They are designed to be used primarily on the camera and as such are smaller, less powerful, and put out a very directional light. Strobes are designed to be used on a stand, with a large range of modifiers. They are more powerful (considerably), have better light distribution (good for use in a modifier), can hold large modifiers without any special mounting equipment, and run on A/C power rather than AA batteries. If you need more power than a speedlight but something more portable than a proper strobe, you can go with a bare bulb flash like the Godox Wistro/Cheetah 360, or the Quantum Q-Flash.

I presume you mean in-studio formal portraiture. If so, then what the others wrote is spot on.

Should I be interested in a flash ring as well?