Buying new lens for my D40 - help?

ecnal

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.lancewilkinson.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a d40 with the kit 18-55 3.5-5.6. I've taken some nice photos with it, but I want something that can give me more range. I'm not looking to spend a ton, a couple hundred maybe.

I was looking at the Nikon 55-200 AF-S VR 4-5.6, but the 4-5.6 worries me a little. I tend to take alot of wildlife shots which sometime require speed, but I've heard some negative things about the speed (or lack thereof) of the 55-200. Can anyone comment on this? I know it doesn't really go together, a budget and a lot of light.

I know that this is my first seperate lens purchase and at this point it's not like I'm a professional.

Just looking for some opinions on this!

Thanks!

Shooting wildlife under good lighting conditions does not require a fast lens.

If you are expecting to shoot under low light conditions (in forested areas, dawn/dusk, overcast ... etc) then you will need a wider aperture than f/5.6.

Yes, faster lenses take a toll on the wallet ... even a Sigma 70-200mm f/2.8 is not cheap.

f/2.8 zoom lenses are very expensive.

I compromised by finding a used Sigma AF 300mm f/4.0.

The 70-200 f/2.8 by Nikon is a nice lens. :mrgreen:

I'll be getting mine in the next few weeks. But you will definitely pay for a good lens. The 55-200 lens is fine for most amateur hobby photographers, as long as you don't need it for any of the above mentioned low-light situations.

You may not get the best images with the 55-200, but can you justify spending $1800+ for a lens to get better performance? You have to weigh your needs and what will benefit you most.

Personally I am getting the 70-200 because my 18-200 doesn't have enough reach, and I'd prefer to have quality glass when I upgrade rather than getting something like the 70-300. With a teleconverter I'll get over 500mm zoom while still being able to handle low light, fast shots, etc.