C&C on my Very First Macro Pics Please?

Ancike

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I shot these using a Canon Powershot SX120 IS. These are my very first macro pictures with any camera. I am pretty new to photography. If anyone has any questions, please ask. :D

2q37jab.jpg

2mw55rm.jpg

15rb97q.jpg

21nksgj.jpg

I know this one is a little blurry. :(
294jw4p.jpg

If you've got bigger copies, post them up! It's hard to see any detail on these.

I LOLed at rollie-pollie :D

Here they are bigger.

biq6hh.jpg

4gt3kz.jpg

jifdhl.jpg

wmmnas.jpg

2nsmdsi.jpg

What lens did you use? Seems they should be a bit crisper, closer. Especially 2, 4 and 5. 1 could use better bokeh, perhaps with a focal point at the bottom of the pods.

Also, if you can get closer, zoom in, and use a tripod if you can. Overall not terrible for your first ones. I'm sure the originals have much better detail. Keep shooting!

I used the lens that is on my SX120 Is. It's a point and shoot. I don't think I can change the lenses. I agree with you about bokeh and #1. I just don't know how to do it. Also, I may invest in a tripod if I think about doing this seriously. Thank you for your C&C.

Firstly I always find it harder to comment on point and shoot shots simply because I don't know how much control over the camera you can have as a user - so I'm sorry if I say suggest something that you can't do with the camera.

Right now that is out of the way onto the shots: First thing I have to say is that you appear to be getting the focus right where you want it to be in most of the shots, I think you did in the first, but you might have been aiming for the very tip of the flowery thingy (can't remember its name) and in the last shot it appears that you caught the back of the leaf and missed the bud.