Camera Advice

Holly

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok.. Been talking to other photographers I know personally.... Its time for me to find a digital SLR.. I currently have my Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ30.. and doing indoor pics with this just isnt EASY... They suggest I do indoor pics with an SLR...

SO I think IM on a search for one... I was thinking of the NIkon D200, but right now its a little OUT of my range price wise.. Id like to stay under 1,000

Suggestions would be great...

Holly

well I sell cameras for a living so I know for a fact that ALL current Dslrs are good, very good. Canon and Nikon are the BIG two, The D200 is stunning but so is the D70s. Canon have the 30D which is great.

30d is higher RES than the D70s but unless you are after HUGE enlargements you may not need the extra pixels.

My camera is 8.2MP and I can get A3 sized prints that look sharper then reprints from my old 645 system.

But no matter what camera you get, invest in GOOD lenses as they make all the difference.

The truth is which ever camera you get you will love it

Holly said:
Ok.. Been talking to other photographers I know personally.... Its time for me to find a digital SLR.. I currently have my Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ30.. and doing indoor pics with this just isnt EASY... They suggest I do indoor pics with an SLR...

SO I think IM on a search for one... I was thinking of the NIkon D200, but right now its a little OUT of my range price wise.. Id like to stay under 1,000

Suggestions would be great...

Holly

For that money, I would seriously consider the sony dsc-r1. check dpreview.com It ISNT a DSLR but it has a great lens and a decent-sized sensor.

For that price, you are looking at an entry level dslr, like the Nikon D-50, or the Canon Digital Rebel XT. I would stay away from cameras lik ethe sony dsc-r1, because it's just a different version of what you already have, and leaves you limited in the same ways you are now.