Camera for a college student

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by Blended, Jul 23, 2010.

1. Blended

Blended TPF Noob!

Hello, first of all. My name is Dan. I'm an architecture student at Penn State and I'm looking to buy a camera. So, currently, I don't have any type of camera except the camera on my cellphone, which is honestly what I use to take pictures. I figure I need to upgrade a bit.

To start off, my budget is $400-$450 (kinda stretching it). I'm in no way a professional photographer, but I do plan on photography becoming a nice hobby of mine, for sure. So, I'm looking for a camera that will allow me to foster this interest in photography. I'd like to get away from the point and shoots, but I understand that my budget doesn't really allow me much room to wander. What I would like to have in a camera is full manual control, since I want to delve into photography. However, my main concern is portability. I would like a camera that I can take with me pretty much anywhere so I can take pictures of everything. I'm not saying it has to fit in my front pants pocket, but I would like it to fit inside a larger coat pocket. I would also like a camera that has at least a decent zoom.

I am currently looking at the Olympus Evolt e420. Currently I can get that for $400 with 3 lenses on ebay. But to be honest, I don't know much about the different cameras on the market these days.

So, here's where I need your help, if possible. What would you guys recommend for me? I'm more than willing to answer more questions that will help me pinpoint a camera I can enjoy.

Thank you guys very much for taking the time to help. I really appreciate it.

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome to the forum.