Camera/Lens for portrait work?

wannabephotog

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone! Another newbie here to ask your advice. Please don't attack. I've spent quite some time here reading pages and pages of past threads and notice some of you get downright frustrated and nasty over newbie questions (even though this is the beginners section). I HAVE read the tutorials and bought and read books and read dozens of review sites and blogs; so I HAVE been doing my homework!

Long term goals is to work in children's portraits (themed sets). I've previously owned a children's franchise and other businesses and would like to someday run a home based studio. I would like to purchase equipment with that goal in mind. I would prefer to buy camera/lenses that will not need upgrading any time soon. The prices for below models are doable, though the least I would need to spend the better knowing more $$$ needed for lights, backdrops, etc.

I've narrowed down to the following:

Canon Rebel T2i 18mp w/18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 zoom
Canon 50D 15mp w/ zoom 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6
Or body only of either model with which lens(s)?

I'm hung up on the lens choices knowing lenses are more important than camera. What is your recommendation for portrait work (full body plus head shots)? Also, assuming would need to print large sizes as part of packages is there a huge difference between 15 and 18 mp? Is the 50D outdated?

Thank you for your expertise! Hope to learn much from you all.

Sylvia

I'd do a Nikon D90 or D200 body (if the D90 is too expensive) + 85mm f/1.8D and 35mm f/1.8G personally. Canon doesn't make a small, cheap 35mm 1.8, and the 85mm on DX is a good range for the tighter shots.

the two zoom lenses won't cut it, they just don't bring in enough light and you'd most likely be shooting close to wide open anyway.