Camera Selection For a Software based Application for Bird Watchin

Rinji

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a student of Mechatronics and have been asked to work on a project which is :
1) Externally trigger a camera to take a picture of a bird's nest (about 200-300 m) away.
2) The picture is directly saved to a laptop Hard disk using USB cable or some other means.
3) the application shall now process the image and check whether the bird has come into the nest or not.
4) If the bird is in the nest then the program shall prompt the user of the software.

My problem is that I know nothing about photography.
I need help in selecting a suitable camera.

Rinji

It isn't so much which camera to buy but what kind of sensor system that will detect the bird flying into its nest. I suggest you investigate elctronic beam interupters that when set up properly detect the bird's flight as its path takes it through the sensor beams. Infrared systems are great because birds, like humans, do not see in the infrared wavelength of light.

Here's how most photographers set up.

They have the camera on a tripod so thay can use a "T" or time setting. They work at night so thay can use a flash taped to a tree limb and aimed down at the nest. The flash is triggered by the beam splitter. You have to open the shutter and leave it open until the flash goes off. By using a digital camera that allows for a firewire hook-up to a laptop, you should be able to configure the laptop to capture the image.

The one aspect about this kind of work is that you have to be hidden and quiet near the camera so you can close the shutter after the flash goes off, to allow for re-setting the camera for another exposure.