Camera suggestions for a newbie!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Jade, Oct 5, 2009.

1. Jade

Jade TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am new to photography...what I mean by that is that I have my $100 point and click. I have played with it long enough, but now I'm wanting better quality pictures and more to work with. Any suggestions on what would be a good starter camera? I want it for pics of my family, lots of my son, and vacation pics. I don't want to spend any MORE than $1000, but less would be better. Thanks in advance! I appreciate it!! I can't wait to learn all I can!

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome to the forum.

For most would-be amateur photographers, the logical upgrade would be to a Digital SLR camera. There are many advantages of a DSLR over a point & shoot type camera...but that doesn't necessarily make it the best choice for you.

I'd suggest going into a well stocked camera store and getting your hands on several different cameras. If you are OK with the size and feel of a DSLR camera, and you actually want to learn a bit about photography, then I would suggest going in that direction. There are several very good entry-level DSLR cameras available. The most popular (and probably best) are the ones from Canon or Nikon.

3. Jade

Jade TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Thanks for answering! Any other advice for me?

4. Goontz

Goontz TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    If you end up getting an SLR, read the manual before even touching it (or while charging the battery for the first time). Then, read it again while playing with the settings.