Camera?

Kross74

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'm new here, I love taking pictures and have a lot to learn about taking pictures. I've always had a passion for photography but never done anything about it. Well...I'm finally going to! I'll like to know the type of digital camera is recommend for a beginner but a camera I can grow with as well?

Thanks in advance!:)

I think that depends on the type of camera you are looking for, and also your budget.

deena,

I have no clue on the type of camera! I'm a beginner without a clue...

I guess you should decide how often you will be using it. If you're only going to be using once every two week, I'd say get a compact camera from a bit higher standards, could be an Panasonic FZ7 for instance, or a Fuji S9600. Myself, I wouldn't go for a more simple compact... If using it more, you should consider getting a less expensive DSLR.

Just my 5 cents.

Hey Freddeh,

I'll be using it a lot! I already have a cheap point and shoot camera. I'm ready for something I can be proud of as a beginner but at the same time grow with. Whatever you experts recommend that's best for me as a beginner for one who loves taking pictures. Will be surely used...

Oh, if you're really serious about photography (and willing to put down some cash) then you migth want a DSLR.

the usual suspects:
-Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi
-Nikon D80
-Pentax K10D
-Sony Alpha A100
-Olympus E-510

The more expensive gear:
-Canon EOS 30D
-Canon EOS 5D
-Nikon D200
-Nikon D2Xs

Allow part of the budget to go towards lenses, and try to get GOOD glass (I'm not here to put you in debt for life but good lenses are generally $500+)

Then don't forget a memory card, possibly a flash unit, tripod, filters, etc.

The above post, is exactly why I asked about budget LOL :)