Can a Nikon TTL remote cord be used with a Canon?

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by dcreative, Apr 1, 2008.

  1. dcreative

    dcreative TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi,

    I have a SC-28 Nikon TTL remote cord from my old Nikon, and was wondering if it could be used with my Canon 30d and 580ex? I hooked it up to my camera, and it seemed to work, but was curious if it will not be communication properly between the camera and the flash.

    Thanks in advance!

    Don
     
  2. Socrates

    Socrates TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Exit #5
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Certainly the flash will fire but I doubt if any of the automation will function.
     
  3. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,818
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    That would be my thinking as well.
     
  4. dcreative

    dcreative TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Thanks, I was thinking the same thing but was unsure if anyone had personal experience with it.

    Thanks!
     
  5. JIP

    JIP No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    3,019
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    Personally I would avoid using this combination. Even if you have used it a couple of times that doesn't mean you will not cause problems in the future.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

can a nikon remote be used on a canon

,

will canon camera work with nikon remote cord