Can an iphone app deliver a quality recording for dslr video?

bahner

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all,

Ive joined this forum in search of some help with a school project. I'm currently in my last semester at business school and have been assigned to a senior project for a company that has developed an application for the iPhone that records at 48kHz. The only problem is that I don't know anything about recording haha. I do however have an interest in photography and making video's with my Nikon D3100 so I thought I could pick your brains for some information on improving the audio recording capabilities for my camera for less than $100.

About the app: It records at 48kHz. You can title recordings before making them. It offers EQ presets for gain, highs, mids, and lows. There is an auxiliary cord you can use to attach the phone to a mic to make recordings. You can get a recording and send it to an FTP site or email it and then drop it into a timeline in an editing system with out having to make any conversions. I'm not aware of any other apps like it that offer such a high kHz recording option.

*Does or has anyone here used an iPhone app to record audio while shooting DSLR video?
*If so, what were the pros and cons to using the app?
*If not, would you be interested in an app that can record at 48kHZ?
*What do I need to know about recording to understand where this product stands with people who are looking for top quality recording for their DSLR cameras?
*What are my next best options price wise (sub $100) for getting a quality recording?

I don't want to seem as though I'm marketing to you so Ill leave the company and product names out. Ive joined a number of forums to hopefully learn a bit about this topic in a short time period. Ive got my newb flame suit on so any and all feedback would be GREATLY appreciated!

Last edited: