Can anyone give me some advice?

stone_family3

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm starting college again and my major is digital graphic design with a minor in digital photography.

I can get through my first quarter with my 35mm manual camera and my P&S nikon coolpix L18.

However the second quarter requires a DSLR camera and I'm at a loss as to which would be best. I have a limit of $500 so I can buy a really nice new one or a great used one. I'm open to both options.

I've been looking at the Nikon D40 which seems very nice but I'd like some more reviews on it if possible.

Ideally I really want the Nikon D3 but I can't afford $4,999.95. At least not yet.

Do you have any reviews of the Nikon D40 or can you recommend anything different?

Welcome to the forum.

Seeing as this is what you are taking in college (and presumably building a career in), can't you stretch your budget for a better camera and a decent lens or two?

I'd suggest looking at the mid range cameras from Canon/Nikon. For example, the Canon 50D/7D or Nikon D90/D300. Or maybe consider going full frame with a Canon 5D or Nikon D700.

It may be a lot of money for you right now, but if you use it for several years of college, it's a pretty good investment.

I agree with Mike, plus since you say you are starting college again, I assume you have income other than student loans and the cost of the camera should be a tax right off. Just a thought, it may be more affordable than you think.

Welcome to the forum.

Seeing as this is what you are taking in college (and presumably building a career in), can't you stretch your budget for a better camera and a decent lens or two?

I'd suggest looking at the mid range cameras from Canon/Nikon. For example, the Canon 50D/7D or Nikon D90/D300. Or maybe consider going full frame with a Canon 5D or Nikon D700.