can anyone

lakers808

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
help me out ? .... i been reading on wikipedia and its saying that the nikon d40,d60,d3000,d5000.. doesnt have a autofocus motor in those cameras of the bodies .. so does that mean its only on the d90?... does it matter if it has that and if u dont have it in ur camera?.. i made my first mistake and im a starting photographer omg..

Your right, any camera below the D90 does not have a built in focusing motor.

What that means is only nikons AF-I and AF-S lenses will auto focus on the nikon body, sure you could mount a non AF-I/AF-S on your body and use it, you just wont be able to autofocus it.

Hope that helps.

(and for the future dont use wikipedia as a reasearch site :lol:)

dam i did all my research before i bought my nikon d40 and i didnt even see that mistake right in front of me .. i just made a mistake .. why whats wrong with that site? .. so nikon d90 has a autofocus motor?

dam i did all my research before i bought my nikon d40 and i didnt even see that mistake right in front of me .. i just made a mistake .. why whats wrong with that site? .. so nikon d90 has a autofocus motor?

You didnt make a mistake, just because it dosent have a built in motor does not mean you made the wrong choice. You just cant autofocus the non AF-I and AF-S lenses.

That was a huge factor in buying my D90, the autofocus motor sold it for me.

And yes, the D90 has a built in motor.

Simply put if the camera body doesn't have a focus motor built in, you will have to buy lenses with the motors in them, or use manual focus.

Most of the newer nikon lenses will have the motor built in I think.

so if u take out ur factory lens and u put in another lens without the autofocus switch . u can alwayz set it to autofocus?...

so if u take out ur factory lens and u put in another lens without the autofocus switch . u can alwayz set it to autofocus?...