Can it be done? Monitor digicam display from PC in realtime.

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by jjromano99, May 10, 2006.

1. jjromano99

jjromano99 TPF Noob!

Hi everyone, I'm a noob here at TPF, and have got a pretty difficult problem in hand, and I'm looking for opinion from anyone who might be able to help me.

We are developing a special table for digitalizing publications such as newspapers and magazines. The idea is to mount a digicam in an semi-fixed arm, and take picturs of the publications from a distance of about 30 - 50 cms (12 - 20 inches). We have not yet opted for a particular digicam, with good macro perfomance, but one of the main issues here is: We intend to have the preview of the photo, for focusing and framing, straight from the PC, via the USB or other cable. Is there a particular digital camera that has this feature? In following post I'll be asking more question about the problems I'll be facing, with lighting and reflection, but at this particular time, I'm trying to solve this very first issue.

Thanks in advance to anyone shedding a light into my problem.

Greetings from Córdoba, Argentina!

JJ

P.S. Feel free to ask for further clarification is something's not clear enough.

2. zedin

zedin TPF Supporters Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Other then a point and shoot the only camera I know of that MIGHT be able to is the new Olympus (I think it is olympus) that has the first real-time lcd preview for a digital slr. Most other digital slrs cannot have a real time preview since there is no light hitting the sensor due to the mirror reflecting light up into the eyepiece prism.

3. jjromano99

jjromano99 TPF Noob!

Thanks for your reply zedin. The idea is to view in the PC the same as what the LCD is showing in the camera. Not sure if that's possible, or if a particular o special software / hardware hack is necessary.