Can somebody help me take better jewelry photos?

vanguard

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am a total photography newbie but I've been reading and trying to take good jewelry pictures for a few weeks now. I've bought a light tent that came with dual 500 watt tungsten lights. I set my Kodak DC280 2.0 MP camera on macro, used a delay and a tripod, and this is what I got.

It's not completely horrible but it's not as good as we need it to be. It's for my wife's ecommerce website. She would like to sell the things she makes.

Do you think I can squeeze more performance out of this camera? If so, do you have any idea what I'm doing wrong? If this consumer camera is simply incapable of taking better pictures what should I get instead? Please keep in mind that photography is not my passion. (Off-topic: woodworking is my passion) I'd really like to keep the price as low as possible while still getting "good enough for jewelry ecommerce" photos.

necklace_1.jpg

hi vanguard,
a light dome produces very flat lighting, I would try to
use an additional reflector (try white cardboard) on one side
to get some depth, use it on the left, since the higlights seem
to be a bit hot on the right already. To get the background
white you'll need to open up some/expose longer. It will take
a few tries to get a good compromise between a white background
an hilites in the metal/gems.
For gems a 'sparkle light' is recommended a weak additional
light to make the stones sparkle.

I did these last week with one light only... a softbox from the top
(approx 1 ft away) and silver reflectors on both sides of the product.
I did not use flash to control the hilites better and the jewellery was
sitting flat on a white cardboard. digital ISO 50, 1 sec @f8

I did only minor corrections in Photoshop to get the background
really white.

IMG_0198.jpg

Untitled-6.jpg
[/url]