Can somebody recommend...?

vedran

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have no experience in this and obviously don't know what's good what not. I want kind of a vintage, maybe 35mm film camera, that's not too expensive, say under 1000$, but still working, because i am interested in developing photos myself. I was at a flea market today and there was a bunch of cameras, and i've never heard of any of them. I do remember one...it was minolta. It's a film camera so you can't just try it out on spot, and can't tell if it's broken and not. Does anyone have recommendations or a reliable site where you can get those ?

There are many, many of them out there. Try to get a list of them and post - I'm sure some of the old f@rts around here know something about them.

How sophisticated do you want to get?
I bought a Nikon N90x (has AF and the auto/semi-auto modes) a few years ago for about $45. Last year I got a Nikkormat FT3 (fully manual) and three lenses for $80. Both of these allow me to use my other "D" Nikon lenses.

KEH.com. is hands-down the best source. My recommendation? Not-too-old Nikon 35mm AF bodies, like the Nikon F100 as the absolute best overall compromise choice of 35mm SLR bodies. I would pass on old, 1970's-era manual focus Canons and Minoltas and Nikons, and move right up to the early 2000's era cameras. with the F100, you would be getting a near-flagship level 35mm SLR, but at throwaway prices these days.

I agree with Derrel, KEH ... and note that they over rate, so BGN is actually not that bad.
If you want sorta vintage but a good camera ... I suggest a Canon F1N.
FD mount lenses are cheap (as they are not directly mountable on any current DSLR).
My second choice is the Olympus OM-4.

You could also go for a classic - A Pentax K1000.

$1000? You could get a a collection of a dozen or more good film cameras for that money.