Can someone explain color cast to me??!!

freddyfries

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi there,

I am relatively new to photography and am working with a D100 set up with Adobe RGB II, using the standard curve and shooting in RAW. At the moment I am increasingly taking more studio pictures with two Bowens Esprit 500w lamps. Every image I take has a brutal color cast within it. I can correct this fairly easily in Nikon Capture Editor or Photoshop, however I don't understand why this is?? Have I done something wrong?

To see an example of what I am dealing I have put two images in before and after status at the following address

http://www.freddyfries.com/colorcast.htm

If any one could please provide a bit of further information regarding this issue I would be most gratful

Thanks a lot

The colour cast you have shown in the example is typical of using tungsten bulbs. The colour temperature of a lightbulb for your rig should be listed on the box. That said, when shooting in RAW, you can adjust the balance to even the picture out.

As I understand it, the Bowens Esprit was supplied with 500W Halogen flash bulbs, which should be daylight balanced. However, if you have non-daylight bulbs, then you would get exactly the results you've shown, which can be corrected post-processing.

There really are only three possible causes - the colour temperature of your lights, the camera's white balance (not applicable in RAW), the colour settings you use in PS. If you PS is calibrated correctly, which presumably it is from your example shots, then by elimination it has to be the temperature of your flash bulbs.

Hope this helps

Rob

My understanding is that when shooting RAW, you still set the white balance, which it stores as info, but it doesn't change the image data. As Rob said, you can change it after the fact.