Canon 1300D Beginner (Help- Portrait Shots)

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by sandeep.sharma1527, Nov 4, 2017.

1. sandeep.sharma1527

sandeep.sharma1527 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi Guys

I am a beginner with a Canon 1300 D and I am seeking the know the following:

Defocus Background effects for Portrait Shots - I can see that on the Av mode, I can only get the Aperture as low as 4.5 which is not giving me any great shot. I am extremely new to DSLR and need help to understand how to take great portrait shots. Can someone help please?

2. pinecone81

pinecone81 TPF Noob!

What lens are you using. Your aperture will be dictated by your lens. And the defocus effect is called bokeh.

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk

• Like Like x 1
  3. Derrel

Derrel Mr. Rain Cloud

Photos OK to edit
    Many "slow-aperture" zoom lenses only range from like f/3.5 at their short end to f/5.6 at the long end (18-55mm lenses for example), while others have a maximum aperture width that is say, f/4.5! With an APS-C size sensor, the typical portrait-range working distances force the lens to show a pretty fair degree of depth of field at f/4.5. A "faster-aperture" lens, say a lens that opens to a very wide f/1.8 range, will, if the lens is fairly long, like say 85mm, will give a more-defocused look to your portrait backgrounds. Similarly, a 50mm f/1.8 lens shot at f/1.8 or f/2 or f/2.5 or thereabouts, will create a fair degree of background blurring on closer-distance subjects.

• Like Like x 1
  4. sandeep.sharma1527

Photos OK to edit
    Hi Friend

Thanks for the reply. I am using the very basic 18-55 lens.

5. sandeep.sharma1527

Photos OK to edit