grahamclarkphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.grahamclarkphoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys,

As an amateur landscape photographer I was excited to get my hands on one of the first copies of the 16-35 F4. I've been collecting image results ever since, and I recently wrote a Canon 16-35 F4 Review and uploaded 35.7GB of images captured with the 16-35 F4, mainly landscape and travel photographs, with quite a few optical performance tests side-by-side's with the 17-40.

Watch the video review: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SMOHrtFp2ko
Click here to read the full review: Canon 16-35 F4 Review vs. 17-40 Shootout - | Graham Clark Photography (35.7GB of RAW/TIFF files)

As a Nikon 14-24 and Canon 17-40 shooter I like that this lens has IS, but if there was a non-IS version I'd get that one. It has less CA than both the 14-24 and the 17-40, based on my copies. It's also sharper than both at the corners, but performs similar on center sharpness. Interestingly enough the 17-40 actually resolved sharper on center sharpness on some of my tests, but performed softer on corners on about 75% of the images. CA performance on the 16-35 F4 outpaces both of these lenses by a wide margin.

A majority of the photographs I shot on the Sony A7R and my 5D3/6D. On the A7R the files are coming out incredibly clean and sharp. If Canon is ramping their lineup for high-resolution mirrorless sensors this lens proves they are ready for that future lineup today.

The Good
  • Critically sharp throughout the frame
  • Outstanding CA performance - best on any wide-angle zoom I've used
  • Great weather-sealing, same as other L-lenses I own
  • Great AF - again, same as my other USM lenses
  • 2 to 3-stops of real-world IS is useful, and I can see the usefulness for travel and landscape without a tripod - higher F-numbers and lower ISOs with IS than otherwise possible