Canon 20D vs. 30D vs. XTi

drummer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm in the market for a new camera, specifically a Canon. I'm an amateur photographer that mainly takes photos of people/everday situations. Not a lot of nature or sports photography.

I've come to love the 20D because one of my favorite photographers uses it. It also fits into what I'm willing to pay, likely for a used one, and that is around $500-700. But I've also found the 30D and XTi to fall into that price range. I'll admit my knowledge of cameras is pretty basic so in reading reviews I've been a little lost, so I thought maybe someone could help me here.

Of those three, which one do you think would be the better choice? Any web sites you'd recommend to look for used cameras? I've seen the 30D usually priced $100-150 more than the 20D - is that extra cost worth it? Any advice would be appreciated! Thanks.

last time I saw a 30D for sale it was on adorama and it was $549 used with the kit lens.... not too bad of a deal. IDK where you are looking and seeing the 20D for $700...

I am still trying to decide between the 30D and the 40D... still a toss up to me lol the 30D seems to be winning tho!

The 30D is exactly the same as the 20D, but with a bigger LCD, and I think a spot meter. You should be able to get a 20D for about $400, A 30D might have less use(if not nearly new) but carry a slightly Higher price. Check Keh.com and Adoroma.com for their used camera prices, they are usually very fair.

That's correct, the 30D is essentially a 20D with a few upgrades like a bigger screen and spot metering. Both good upgrades but not essential if your budget is too tight.

Personally, I'd see if you can stretch the budget to get a 40D...it's a big step ahead of the 30D.