Canon 30D "clicks" or number of shutter actuations

Discussion in 'Digital Discussion & Q&A' started by haywood J, Dec 6, 2008.

  1. haywood J
    Offline

    haywood J New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    West Bloomfield, MI
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Question. Can anyone help to understand how I can determine how many shutter actuations or "clicks" I have taken with a Canon 30D camera. Since one is able to reset the counter (and I have) it is not a reliable measurement. Someone suggested an up load to Flickr -- I found that is off by 5000 as well. Any assistance would be appreciated.
  2. epp_b
    Offline

    epp_b New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,135
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    True North Cold and Freezing
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    It should be in the EXIF data of every image you take. For Nikon, it's labeled "Total pictures". I'm not sure what it is for Canon.

    The last image you have taken with your camera will have the total number of actuations that have been taken with the camera.
  3. gryphonslair99
    Offline

    gryphonslair99 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6,616
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,140 / 0

    You send it to Canon and pay for it or you don't get it at all. Only the xD series bodies have the ability to be read for total shutter actuations with an end user program.
  4. Ejazzle
    Offline

    Ejazzle New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jupiter/ Tequesta FL
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    epp b, where do you see that number? i dont see it anywhere...
  5. epp_b
    Offline

    epp_b New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,135
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    True North Cold and Freezing
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    Like I said, I don't know how Canon labels the total picture count in EXIF data, or even if they record it to EXIF in the first place.

    Try this:
    1) Take an exposure
    2) Transfer the resulting JPEG to your computer
    3) Download and install IrfanView
    4) Open the JPEG in IrfanView
    5) Press I, then press E

    You now have a dialogue box displaying *all* of the EXIF data. Non-dedicated image data viewers (like a Windows file properties dialogue, for example) dumb things down and only display some of the EXIF data.

    You should have IrfanView anyway, it's fantastic! ;)
  6. Jklersy
    Offline

    Jklersy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    I live in MN
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    so can you tell me how many pics have been run on this camera body. I bought it used and cant seem to figure this out.

    Make - Canon
    Model - Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XT
    Orientation - Top left
    XResolution - 72
    YResolution - 72
    ResolutionUnit - Inch
    DateTime - 2008:12:04 21:50:27
    YCbCrPositioning - Co-Sited
    ExifOffset - 196
    ExposureTime - 1/3.3 seconds
    FNumber - 1.80
    ExposureProgram - Aperture priority
    ISOSpeedRatings - 100
    ExifVersion - 0221
    DateTimeOriginal - 2008:12:04 21:50:27
    DateTimeDigitized - 2008:12:04 21:50:27
    ComponentsConfiguration - YCbCr
    ShutterSpeedValue - 1/3 seconds
    ApertureValue - F 1.80
    ExposureBiasValue - 0.00
    MeteringMode - Partial
    Flash - Flash not fired, compulsory flash mode
    FocalLength - 50 mm
    UserComment -
    FlashPixVersion - 0100
    ColorSpace - sRGB
    ExifImageWidth - 3456
    ExifImageHeight - 2304
    InteroperabilityOffset - 9230
    FocalPlaneXResolution - 3954.23
    FocalPlaneYResolution - 3958.76
    FocalPlaneResolutionUnit - Inch
    CustomRendered - Normal process
    ExposureMode - Auto
    White Balance - Auto
    SceneCaptureType - Standard
    Maker Note (Vendor): -
    Macro mode - Normal
    Self timer - Off
    Quality - Fine
    Flash mode - Not fired
    Sequence mode - Continous
    Focus mode - MF
    Image size - Large
    Easy shooting mode - Manual
    Digital zoom - None
    Contrast - High , +1
    Saturation - Normal
    Sharpness - Normal
    ISO Value - 32767
    Metering mode - Partial
    Focus type - Auto
    AF point selected -
    Exposure mode - Av-priority
    Focal length - 50 - 50 mm (1 mm)
    Flash activity - Not fired
    Flash details -
    Focus mode 2 - 8
    White Balance - Auto
    Sequence number - 0
    Flash bias - 0 EV
    Subject Distance - 0
    Image Type - Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XT
    Firmware Version - Firmware 1.0.3
    Owner Name - unknown<Pd
    Camera Serial Number - 1120626947 (42CB26883)
    File number - 130 - 3012
    Thumbnail: -
    Compression - 6 (JPG)
    XResolution - 72
    YResolution - 72
    ResolutionUnit - Inch
    JpegIFOffset - 9716
    JpegIFByteCount - 6327
  7. epp_b
    Offline

    epp_b New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,135
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    True North Cold and Freezing
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +11 / 0
    My best guess would be "File Number", or 3012 actuations, but I'm not sure.
  8. Jklersy
    Offline

    Jklersy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    I live in MN
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Darn. That number is my reset number, I reset it no thinking. I did buy it used so I'm not sure how used it really was.
  9. gryphonslair99
    Offline

    gryphonslair99 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    6,616
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wichita, Kansas, USA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,140 / 0
  10. dtornabene1
    Offline

    dtornabene1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Just an F.Y.I. The previous poster was correct in saying the 3000 number is the file number, but just since it was last reset as you already noticed.

    What concerned me more was your Firmware version. The latest version is 1.0.6. Also, make sure you have downloaded the latest version of Canon's DPP. All free to you as a Canon user from their Website.

    This is the link for the 30D:

    http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/c...ategoryid=215&modelid=12929#DownloadDetailAct

    I know it's not exactly what you are looking for, but hope this helps you and others.

    - Nick
  11. 250Gimp
    Offline

    250Gimp New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chelsea, Quebec
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    hhhmmmm....

    If you look at second line from the top of the Exif it says that the camera is a

    "Model - Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XT"

    That doesn't seem like a 30d to me!!
  12. Big Mike
    Offline

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,514
    Likes Received:
    1,720
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,724 / 0
    Not the same person. The OP was Heywood J, asking about a 30D. Jklersy has the XT.
  13. Garbz
    Offline

    Garbz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,712
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +202 / 0
    Btw for the record different cameras even from the same manufacturer record them in different places in the EXIF and some don't record it at all.

    There is no generic blanket statement saying it is located in the EXIF and called "blah"
  14. dtornabene1
    Offline

    dtornabene1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    True, but in the case of the 30D the location in the EXIF as I noted above is correct. You are right though, I should be more specific next time.

    Thanks for pointing that out!

    -Nick
  15. 250Gimp
    Offline

    250Gimp New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chelsea, Quebec
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Oops! :taped sh:
  16. Horsephotogr
    Offline

    Horsephotogr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Freaking out a bit. I see my actuations as this: Camera Actuations: -1471479744

    The other part, where I read on a forum from '07 that there is a formula for calculating this info:
    Image Type: Canon EOS 30D
    Actuation Counter: 64
    Actuation Multiplier: 43083
    Canon Tag93 Length: 32
    Canon TagA0 Length: 28

    Yikes! I know I take a lot of photos... AND maybe my hunch to buy another camera was right. Any suggestions?
  17. Horsephotogr
    Offline

    Horsephotogr New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I also, just read, that one cannot get this info on a 30d. Only Canon can. Whew! Still a few shots left.

    (yes, I am a dork and am completely aware of it)
    :thumbsup:
  18. 2use
    Offline

    2use New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I actually am trying to get more info on the same question but for a 5D camera - how can i find out its true full usage? You say that the xD series cab be read for total with a program, what program?

    Also see this thread i just created for my own similair question. Thread
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2011

Share This Page