Canon 40D - will it work for me?

dianehamm

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi! I started shooting pics of barrel racers for fun w/my little canon S5 IS. Have gotten lots of great shots (In good light) & am now being requested at rodeos, so I need to upgrade to better equip. When I shoot on a very overcast day or a covered arena, telephoto across the arena ( probably abt 70') I'm getting a lot of noise in my pics. Also after sunset with my maximum ISO of 800, my shutter speed is too slow to freeze the action.

I need to find a camera & lens that can handle low light telephoto action shots without the noise. Have been looking into the canon 40D - Does anyone have first hand experience with this camera shooting under similar conditions? Or are there any rodeo photographers reading this that could recommend another camera & lens that would do the job without breaking the bank - Until I start making some money at this I can't justify spending over say $800-$1200.

Welcome to the forum.

The 40D might be a good camera for this, although, there are other cameras with better noise performance (low noise at high ISO) but probably not in your budget. You might be able to find a used 5D for a reasonable price.

That being said, the lens will likely matter just as much or more than the camera. You will likely want/need a telephoto lens, but you will also want/need a 'fast' lens (large maximum aperture). Fast telephoto lenses are very expensive.

Even with a great camera and a fast lens...it might still be a challenge to get greats shots in an indoor rodeo arena....the typical lighting is pretty terrible.

There are a couple photographers on this site, who do this sort of thing. I don't think they visit every day, you might want to search them out and send them a message.