Canon 50D

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Lee_Maryland, Mar 2, 2010.

1. Lee_Maryland

Lee_Maryland TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am new to photography, and looking to purchase my first SLR camera. I have been reading the tips on the forum, as well as reading reviews, etc. I have somewhat decided to go with canon 50D as my first camera, can I please get some thoughts on this camera? Mostly likely I am going to be a weekend photographer, and my ultimate goal is to shoot weddings as a career. Thank you for the help on this.

2. Dao

Dao No longer a newbie, moving up!

It is a good solid prosumer camera from Canon. (I use EOS 40D)

It will do what you need. If you have the budget for a 5D MKII, I will go that route. (especially for weddings) But 50D still a very capable camera and I learned that a lot of people use 50D (or even older model) to shoot weddings.

3. bigtwinky

bigtwinky No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    fine camera for your needs. Learn with it, grow with it, and move to a full frame when doing weddings professionally.

Way more important than the body are the lenses that you use with the camera. Get some good quality and fast glass (f2.8 or lower). You will probably upgrade that body in a few years, while the lenses will remain. Many people I know who have been shooting for a while have had their good lenses for 10+ years, and in that time, have changed bodies 3-4 times.

4. Lee_Maryland

Lee_Maryland TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit

BigWinky,

Does it make more sense to you purchasing a lower end SLR camera for learning? Like a canon Rebel? And buy quality lenses as I go along? Like you said, I will probably upgrade bodies in a few years.

5. Dao

Quality lens make a big difference in terms of image quality. If you are planning to the good lenses later on down the road, it is fine to start with 50D (or a used 40D which is around $5XX now)