Canon 50mm f/1.4 or f/1.8 lens???

stalley

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to photography and wanting to buy a new lens for a smaller aperture. Obviously there's a huge difference between these lenses because of the price but I'm wondering what those differences are. If I'm wanting to do portrait photography with a huge aperture for a greater depth of field what should I buy?

dont say smaller aperture, say smaller aperture NUMBER. Smaller number means larger aperture opening.

Well, you probably wont find used f/1.4, but you will see a few f/1.8. New canon 50 mm f/1.4 will run you around $360. Used f/1.8 is about $100. Take your pick.

I think you got it backward. The smaller the number, the smaller DOF you can achieve (blurred background, perfect for potraits).

* Build quality
* USM versus micro motor
* f/1.4 versus f/1.8
* More aperture blades
* Slightly better optics in the f/1.4

The easiest solution is to ask yourself... can afford the 50mm f/1.4? If yes.. get it. If no, get the 50mm f/1.8 and be happy.

I meant to say smaller aperture number. I do understand that part and know how much the lenses cost...I just needed to know why the 1.4 was worth $200 more which yousayit pretty much covered.

Thanks for the help!

* Build quality
* USM versus micro motor
* f/1.4 versus f/1.8
* More aperture blades
* Slightly better optics in the f/1.4

The easiest solution is to ask yourself... can afford the 50mm f/1.4? If yes.. get it. If no, get the 50mm f/1.8 and be happy.

This, plus the manual, focus ring is actually usable on the 1.4 version.