canon 70-200L IS or primes?

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by guitarkid, Oct 26, 2006.

1. guitarkid

guitarkid TPF Noob!

just your opinion on this...i still don't know.

i have a 30D and 20D.

lenses are;

Sigma 10mm-24mm
    Sigma 70-200mm F4
    Sigma 18-55mm F2.5
    Canon (cheap) 70-300mm F4.5?
    Canon 50mm F1.8

i use the sigma 70-200 for everything and love it. i shoot mainly weddings and need something for low light. i just started shooting with the prime lens 50mm. i love it!!! looks so great with low light! very fast as well! i will look at a 24mm possibly or a 35mm. i need a little more room in the images and 50mm is zoomed in too much a lot of times for what i shoot.

i heard the canon 70-200L IS is really great. i need something fast that looks great in low light. i thought of getting a 135mm prime and a 24mm prime but then i would have to change out with the 2 cams and risk missing a shot. i really like the 50 prime and couldn't get over how nice they they look compared to my sigma 70-200mm. the sigma is nice but the prime was great.

anyway, thanks,
    steve

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I don't own it...but I've always heard that the 70-200 F2.8 IS...is the cat's @SS. With F2.8 and IS...you should be able to get sharp shots with natural light in a lot of places. I say go for it.

3. usayit

usayit No longer a newbie, moving up!

North New Jersey, United States of America
    Photos OK to edit