Canon 70-200mm f/4 Non-IS for a 85mm f/1.8?

NedM

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi guys!

As a portrait photographer, I was very excited to finally own my first Canon L lens, the Canon 70-200mm f/4 non-is. I have had this lens for about 2 years now but I seldom found myself ever using it for my portraiture work.

When I did use this lens, I always found it hard to catch focus on my subject properly, even in a well lit environment. Manually focusing was even more frustrating as I always had trouble fine tuning the focus using the focus ring.

Lately, I have been thinking about selling my 70-200mm f/4 and using the money to invest into a Canon 85mm 1.8. I have heard a lot about this lens and the wide aperture would definitely help.

I do shoot a lot weddings, but I mainly use my 24-105mm f/4 IS as my all-in-one lens.

I guess what I am asking is would selling my 70-200mm to invest into a 85mm be a good idea for me?
Any and all opinions would be very appreciated!

Are you sure there is not something wrong with the 70-200? Is your camera capable of AF micro adjustments?
If you are having that much trouble with it, and the wide aperture is needed, I would say yes.

Are you sure there is not something wrong with the 70-200? Is your camera capable of AF micro adjustments?
If you are having that much trouble with it, and the wide aperture is needed, I would say yes.

Hm, I have CAnon 5D MK 2. Is that camera capable of micro adjustments?
Where can I learn more about this topic?

can you show some of the Out Of Focus shots with your 70-200/4 ?

can you show some of the Out Of Focus shots with your 70-200/4 ?

Here is a very recent shot where I used my 70-200. Shot at 6pm two hours before sunset.

Settings:
5DM2
1/250, F/4, ISO 200

One shot and I had the focal point on her nearest eyeball.
Even during optimal lighting, I feel like I always have trouble focusing with this lens.

IMG_6151.jpg