Canon 70-300 IS USM vs. 70-200 L

charles181

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey ya'll.

I was looking into purchasing a new lense with my upcoming paycheck. I wanted one that would give me some nice telephoto capabilities. My friend owns the 70-300, but was telling me about how he dreams to have a 70-200. I understand that it's an L-series lense, but can someone show me proof of its superiority? I'm a beginner, and it seems like why would you sacrifice 100mm.

Also, do any of you guys find it annoying when you have a prime lense like a 400mm and you have to move back and forth with your legs in order to get a nicely framed shot?

Thanks again!:D

I don't have examples, as I do not own the 70-300. I have heard it was a fairly good lens. However, a large differenc is the 70-200 could be a F2.8 lens, it has better optics and better build quality. Focusing would also be slower on the 70-300.

Look here.
Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM Lens Review

He compares them for you and has a picture you can use to click back and forth to see the sharpness and detail difference.

Yes, on 1.5x or 1.6x, a 400mm lens has become very narrow in angle of view. On FF, a 400 is pretty handy for many field sports and general outdoor situations, but on crop-body cameras, the 400mm prime is pretty restrictive in its angle of view,and you do have to be a certain distance away from the action in order to get a picture with a 400mm lens; that is one of the main reasons the Nikon D3 and D700 series bodies have been such a huge hit with sports and action shooters: with a high-quality full frame camera, the 400mm focal length is now more-useful when the action comes relatively close to the camera position. When you are confined by a field, or a sideline, and can not move back, it is pretty nice to have a FF camera if you have a 400 prime.