Canon 70d or Nikon D7100 for (students) first DSLR

Fontos

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello. I went to college and we have to take at least one picture for every week and sometimes we have to make some videos too. And I´ve realized that my (5 year old) point and shoot is not enough for pictures and definitely useless for videos. So I started reading some reviews and realized that these two cameras are basically on par. But each of them has some good features. And that is why I am asking here. Both of the cameras are in the same price. I am more in to videography.
Advantages of Canon: Very fast and accurate autofocus, flip out touch screen and canon lenses are a bit cheaper.
Advantages of Nikon: No AA filter so in theory it takes sharper pictures (as a beginner I can NOT see any difference between the Image Quality), has two SD card slots which means I can have a backup if one card fails.

My main concern is if I buy the Nikon that I won´t be able to shoot good videos without that flip out screen and fast AF. But I don´t know. If I go with the Nikon and leave the depth of field on large then would be the focus an issue?

My main concern is if I buy the Nikon that I won´t be able to shoot good videos without that flip out screen and fast AF.
If you relate good videos to a flip out screen then maybe you should also look at the Nikon 5300, which has a flip out screen.

I don't know much about the video between all the Nikons/Canons.

Both will take solid stills. The 70d will be better for video.

But for your first DSLR i would get something cheaper and invest more in lenses, unless you have the budget for the aforementioned cameras plus a good set of lenses.

Both will take solid stills. The 70d will be better for video.

But for your first DSLR i would get something cheaper and invest more in lenses, unless you have the budget for the aforementioned cameras plus a good set of lenses.