Canon 70D or Nikon D7100

reelandtrigger

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am completely new to photography and having a hard time deciding between these two units. I will mostly shoot landscape with some kids soccer.

With the dual pixel AF, sounds like the Canon will shoot video better, however, not sure how much video I will be shooting.

I know the body is not as important as the glass, however, I suppose if I am going to get started I need to start with the correct platform (being Canon or Nikon).

Anyway, I appreciate any insight from you guys...thanks so much in advance for taking the time...now back to reading reviews, lol.

Oh I did not see that Nikon has the D7200 out...hmm, that unit seems to be a decent upgrade from the D7100 in regards to buffer and now built in Wi-Fi.

Nikon's built in wifi is a joke, so I would not make decisions based on that unless you're sure the minimal functionality suites your needs.

I love my D7100. I started with the D5300 before that (for the wifi and GPS), but upgraded soon afterwards for the better controls on the D7100. There's not enough improvement on the D7200 over the D7100 to prompt me to upgrade, but if I were buying new again I think the D7200 is a great starting point.

I don't have any Canon experience though, so I don't have the opposite perspective to share.

Appreciate the response RC, I will continue with my research, at this point I think I am leaning towards the Nikon, however, we will see...lol.

I have had a few canons and a nikon d7100. The nikon sensor has better dynamic range which is a good thing to have especially for landscape (many landscape shooters with new gen sensors say they don't need to use filters as much as before). I think in most respects most modern cameras are great, but having better dynamic range definetely helps some types of photography. However to not be totally one sided the 70d takes great photos and the swivel and touch screen is great