Canon 70D

Discussion in 'Canon Cameras' started by Mchedgerphotography, Oct 24, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Mchedgerphotography

Mchedgerphotography TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hey there! So, im a bit new with photography and even working with my canon 70D functions. I noticed the quality of the pictures aren’t as sharp when I post them online compared to my camera screen. I know the MP is 20ish.... Now I have used Automatic a lot ( on the body) manual on my canon 18- 135mm IS STM lens. My goal is ito start playing with manual but if I do take automatic shots; can I get a better quality photo?

2. TCampbell

TCampbell Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit
    If they are sharp on your computer but not sharp online then either you or your online hosting site has resampled at a lower quality.

This is a somewhat common on Facebook. You upload high quality... but to save space, they re-sample everything to a much higher compression and you lose image resolution. The result is a version of your image that doesn't nearly as good on Facebook as it did on your computer.

I know of no work-around other than to post the image to another website that doesn't re-sample the images at lower quality ... and post a link.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. CherylL

CherylL No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    I had the 70D and the 18-135 lens. The 70D is a very good camera. The lens is okay, but isn't as sharp as a prime. What you see on the back of the camera screen is very small and you can't really gauge a photo's sharpness. Practice with the different focus modes. The problem may be with using manual focus on the lens. The camera's touch screen does a great job when you select your focus point and keep the lens on AF.

4. Designer

Designer Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit