Canon AE-1 Program or Nikon FE?

ParanoidHiro

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello there! This is my first post on this forum (how could i not bother you with a beginner's question?)

The problem is pretty simple...

I'm a student (law) who took up my uncle's film camera (Praktica MTL3 with a 50mm / 1.8 MC Pancolar) and fell in love with it. Point is i will have to give it back to him since he is really fond of it. I've been saving for a while and at last i can afford to buy my very own first film camera. Searching on the internet i came up with these

Canon AE-1 Program + Canon FD 28mm 2.8 + Canon FD 50mm 1.8 + Canon FD 135mm 3.5

Canon AE-1 Program + Canon FD 50mm 1.8 + Vivitar 28-85mm 3.5-4.5 + Vivitar 70-200mm 3.8-4

Nikon FE + Nikon Series E 35mm 2.5

all are around the same price but i'm stuck and i cant decide which to buy... i would mainly shoot street photography \ portraits \ architecture \ and would really like to be able to shoot at night

thanks for your patience, i look forward to an answer!

All Canons are cheap on EBay. To start, get a body with the FD f/1.8 50mm lens, it is very good and not expensive. The fast speed means itas good at night, if you use fast film.

Nikon lenses work on Nikon DSLRs. Canon FD lenses wont work on an EOS. Therefore, they are cheaper. This is why I use Canon FD mount film bodies, as you dont have to spend much on glass to get strated and get good results.

The A and F bodies are usually a bit expensive because hipsters like them (as they are chrome and manual wind), but you can get a more modern 1980s T models for cheaper usually, and it has more features, like LCD menus, better modes and metering, auto-wind / rewind, more common (AA) batteries, and takes the same lenses. Thats what I did - the T90 in my pic is a "pro" body, and it with the lens I mentioned was like £50 incl. shipping and a bag, on ebay.