Canon EF 70-200mm f/4.0L USM Lens Question

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by ACTURY, Dec 13, 2008.

1. ACTURY

ACTURY TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I am shooting Canon Rebel XS. A friend of mine is trying to cut me a really good deal on this lens.

I am new to photography, not sure what purpose this lens will serve.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards

2. AlexColeman

AlexColeman TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I don't really get what you are asking, if you are asking what you can photograph with the lens, it is a telephoto, for taking shots of long distance objects.

3. Overread

Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Its avery fine lens and a lot of people use the 70-200mm focal range - however if you have no use for a lens then no matter how good it is its not worth getting!

You say your friend is trying to cut you a good deal on this lens - so I am assuming that it is not a lens that he owns and thus it might not be possible for you to try out the lens in person. If this is the case then try getting to a local photography store - the 70-200mm is a popular and affordable lens so its a good change that a store might have one in stock which you can try out in the store. Getting a feel for the focal range is important and might give you ideas for its use.
    I know its used all over the place - weddings, street, walkabout, studio, wildilfe in zoos (hey some of us do! ;)) so the focal length is very versatile.

4. Buszaj

Buszaj TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    As long as the lens is in good condition and you're sure about the deal, go for it. Its definitely a good lens, great for outdoor sports, portraiture, some wildlife; just to mention a few.

5. Dao

Dao No longer a newbie, moving up!