Canon EF-S 10-18mm F/4.5-5.6. Yay or Nay? For wedding photography?

NedM

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm just starting out in wedding photography and I stumbled across this lens!
I already have myself a 70-200mm, but I need something wide and affordable to capture those group shots!

At just $299 retail, the Canon 10-18mm looks like a great choice! And with Black Friday just around the corner, I can't imagine what the price would drop to!

Here are some pros and cons I put together for this lens:

Pros:
Cheap value
STM Focus Motor
Quality Optics
Image Stabilization
Full-Time Manual Focusing

Cons:
Made of plastic
Not weather sealed

What do you guys think?
Would this lens be a good investment for those just starting out in wedding photography?

On your 550D or similar body, 10 mm will let you back into a corner of the reception hall and shoot the whole room. You will get quite a bit of floor and ceiling so you might want to crop it later. With really, really wide lenses, there tends to be distortion at the edges where everything is stretched out a little. Not the best for shooting people, but it lets you fit them in where you otherwise would not be able to. There are software solutions for post processing but some of them are a pain.

We were at dinner with friends last night and asked the waitress to take a group photo for us. She took 4. There were 5 of us around a table. As usual I had my 18-250 so I put on a flash and gave the zoom a bit of a spin then asked her to stand almost as far away as the room permitted. EXIF says 31 mm focal length. The camera was in P mode with ETTL flash. It worked pretty well, everyone in focus and not much clean up required.