Canon EOS 450D (Kiss X2) Vs EOS 1000D (rebel XS)

crasho

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm still studying photography and considering to buy my first DSLR.

Because most of my friend using canon so I narrow it down to these two camera: EOS 450D (Kiss X2) Vs EOS 1000D (rebel XS)

From what I read both camera seem similar with some minor difference:
1. 9 point AF in 450D while 7 point AF in 1000d
2. Spot metering in 450D
3. 3" LCD Vs 2.5" LCD
4. 450d can use wireless remote
5. 12 mp Vs 10 mp

Price difference for both camera with kit in my country about USD$200

is the 450 D really worth the extra $200?

I was thinking I can use the extra $200 to get some accessories or lens if the difference is not that great.

And maybe use this camera as my learner camera and plan for update to 40D/50D later

I ended up going with the XS because I read a few reviews and they stated that a person with little to no photography experience will not need the extra features and will not miss them since they've never had them.
I am just using mine for some family shots and landscape stuff around my house, so it would also depend on what you plan on doing with the new hobby.

is the 450 D really worth the extra $200?
Some would say it is and some would say it isn't. As far as image quality you probably couldn't tell the difference between the two.
I was thinking I can use the extra $200 to get some accessories or lens if the difference is not that great.
That's a good idea. Spend part of the $200 on the battery/vertical grip.
And maybe use this camera as my learner camera and plan for update to 40D/50D later
That's another good idea. Just be sure to get good lenses as they make more of a difference than the body does.

From what I read both camera seem similar with some minor difference:
1. 9 point AF in 450D while 7 point AF in 1000d
2. Spot metering in 450D
3. 3" LCD Vs 2.5" LCD
4. 450d can use wireless remote
5. 12 mp Vs 10 mp