Canon EOS Digital Rebel VS Nikon D70

photosoup guru

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hmm, as some of you may know, I am just getting into digital photography. Well I am torn between the Canon EOS digital rebel for CAD $1,299.98 (with a Canon EF-S 18-55mm lens)... or the Nikon D70 for CAD $1,329.98 without the lens... If I get the digital rebel I can get a canon i9900 photo printer... If I get the D70 I can only afford a 70-300mm lense. What do you think?

Canon SYSTEM is better for sports. Pros use it... u should use it too.

And don't buy the kit lens for the rebel. It sucks.

If it's a straight choice between the cameras then I'd recommend the Nikon D70.
For reference, I own a Canon 10D (and love it to death!) but having handled the D70 and a Digital Rebel there's no doubt in my mind.
If however you already own some Canon lenses then maybe it's worth a rethink.
Just my $0.02 worth.

And here I thought was going to go the whole weekend without ANY suicidal thoughts at all...................Oh well, if you'll excuse me, I'm going to go clean my gun now.

malachite said:
And here I thought was going to go the whole weekend without ANY suicidal thoughts at all...................Oh well, if you'll excuse me, I'm going to go clean my gun now.

Oh dear....sorry if I offended you or any other Canon owners, just giving an honest opinion, please forgive the heresy.
For what it's worth, if you want to put the 10D (or the 20D) into the mix then obviously I'd vote for that.
Now put that gun down!

From your other thread I gather you wanted a zoom, so even if you buy the rebel you'd have to get a zoom lens for it anyway.

As a straight choice the D70 is a much better camera than the rebel and that's what I'd go for.

As has been mentioned though the Canon 10D is dropping in price and might be worth a look too if it falls to within your range.

Canon SYSTEM is better for sports. Pros use it... u should use it too.