Canon EOS Rebel G and Canon Digital Rebel XT 8MP Digital SLR Camera

ordinaryday

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So I found a Canon EOS Rebel G that my parents bought a couple years ago, and it has a Canon Zoom Lens EF 35-80mm 1:4-5.6 III on it.

Will this lense fit on the Rebel XT?

Is it compatible, since the EOS is film and the XT is digital?

Complete beginner here, so any techinical responses please keep simple.

all EOS cameras have the same lens mount and electronics. so yes, it'll fit. I posted a question on here asking what it's quality would be compared to the 85-55 EF-S kit lens on the D rebels. I still want to know, cause I'm sure a film rebel's kit lens is cheap, and it has a longer maximum focal length.
If it has good optical quality, then it'd be a good addition.

Thanks for the quick reply! Sorry to say you completely lost me after the first sentence of your post, when I say complete beginner, I truly mean it, heh.

Focal length, it's what we see as magnification of the image through the lens (its much more than that, but this is a lay mans explanation). smaller numbers produce wider angles whereas higher numbers produce more telephoto shots, or more magnified pictures - tele from the greek meaning "far off".

18mm-55mm kit lenses are, well kit lenses meaning they come with the kit when you buy the camera. two focal lengths indicate a zoom lens, ranging from 18mm (wide angle) to 55mm (~normal).

Now, on most digital cameras the sensors are smaller than 35mm film, so it produces a crop factor of 1.5 (1.6 for canon consumer cameras). So, you take 18mm x 1.6 = ~29mm in 35mm. If you are used to shooting film this is very important, because your 28mm wide angle lens is suddenly not so wide angle on a digital body. If you arent used to film, dont worry about it.