Canon Lenses - Need Help PLEASE!!

Crystal

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I’m trying to figure out what lenses to buy my budget is around $3000 I’m looking at the canon 70-300 f4-5.6 DO kind of comparing it to the 70-200 f2.8. I have been looking through the threads and its quite clear that the L Series 70-200 comes out on top but I’m only considering the 70-300 because of its size, I want good quality but i really can’t see myself lugging around the 70-200 and I don’t like to stand out. I would mainly use it for family portraits, pets and family trips, on the other hand my favourite shots are close-ups with bokeh so the aperture is important is there anything else I can compare it to that still has the quality & not so large? Also comparing the 24-105 f4 to the 24-70 f2. Would LOVE LOVE LOVE some help – I have spent hours reading reviews and would really appreciate some personal opinions.

P.S I'm a total noob - so be nice to me:blushing:

Thanks
Crystal

first off:
buy third party.
by that, I mean, buy Sigma or tamron.
they are much cheaper than canon most the time and still have good quality

£400 ($600) = sigma 105mm Macro - unless you are going to do a lot of macro photography, i would stray away from that.

£110 ($160) = sigma 70-300mm

£400 ($600) = sigma 10-20mm

£120 ($175) = sigma 18-50mm

£400 ($600) = sigma 24 - 70mm + macro (its a switch that allows it to focus closer)

thats your full range covered by pretty good glass + money to spare.