Canon or Nikon?

ant_m

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Which is the best DSLR to go with? I'm looking at the 40d from Canon and the d80 from Nikon.

You have to get the Canon as everybody on this forum will tell you the Nikon is absolute garbage.....

I am a newbie to photography and even I know this is going to be a fun thread :).

The Nikon is the way to go, as the Canon is utter junk.

Don't get excited Nick Nolte just having some fun

seriously OP: go to your local camera store and try them out. pick them up. see which one fits your hands the best. see if the controls are in a comfortable spot for you. both brands are very good. it has been said on here before.....you aren't buying a camera......you are buying a system.

The Nikon is the way to go, as the Canon is utter junk.

Don't get excited Nick Nolte just having some fun

oh i know......i was too :mrgreen:

as soon as i seen this thread i thought......"oh this is gonna be fun "

and that's MR. NOLTE!!! :)

I originally had typed "Mr. Nolte" first but its too formal for the mug shot.;):D

I guess I wasn't being all that helpful either. Well, either choice is a good one. That's enough !

Don't forget olympus pentax sony panasonix samsung sigma casio vivitar yashica kodak fuji. Oh there is another one in mind called magxonn or magnon or whatever.

Anything else?

the d80 is nearly half the price of the 40d.

I've heard great things about the 40d.

Either one you get, if it's your first dSLR, you're probably not going to realize what features you're missing until a year or two after you get it.

Get a holga instead, I hear they are #1 camera in America and Japan!

Much sharper than anything nikon or canon can produce!

seriously, which camera feels better? to me, Canon was too small (XTI/XT vs D50) so i bought the nikon. Simple as that

nikon or canon. that's a question.

I assume you used the search function first to see what other threads already covered this topic.