Canon Rebel

Picksure

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
My Sister has let me have her Canon Reble EOS xs to use for a while. I have a couple questions. What is the "star" button for on the top right of the back of the camera? What is the best film speed to use for out door (sunny) photos?

Also I have tried to find an on-line manual for the camera without any luck, does anyone know a link?

I have been using a Panasonic FZ-10 for about 8 months and I am curious to use a film camera.
Any help or tips on using this camera would help.

Thanks.

The star, i can't remember exactly, i though it had something to do with metering, i'll check when i go to work today.

As far as film speed for outdoor sunny pics. If you know you have the light, go for a 100iso something around that area. If your taking action you might want to make it a 200 or 400. Its all a matter of what your shooting.

I usually for color use Fuji NPS160 or black/white i use Fuji Acros 100

-Ryan

ADjust the ISO up untill your minimum shutter speeds are met. Keep it low as you can manage though to reduce noise. That would be my sugesstion.

panchromatic said:
The star, i can't remember exactly, i though it had something to do with metering, i'll check when i go to work today.

As far as film speed for outdoor sunny pics. If you know you have the light, go for a 100iso something around that area. If your taking action you might want to make it a 200 or 400. Its all a matter of what your shooting.

I usually for color use Fuji NPS160 or black/white i use Fuji Acros 100

-Ryan

Thanks for the info, now get to work and find out about that star for me. ;)

I believe that the star button activates partial metering. Normal metering is probably matrix (overall) maybe center weighted. When you push the star button, the camera's meter only meters the center part of the frame. It will be the center area and not the exact center spot (this camera does not have spot metering).