Canon T3I Wireless Remote Control

Discussion in 'Canon Accessories' started by USCRugbyNo1, Jan 6, 2013.

  1. USCRugbyNo1
    Offline

    USCRugbyNo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Can anyone recommend a good Canon T3I Wireless Remote Control? Everything I find web says it supports T1i and T2i but not T3i. Please help with some links!
  2. USCRugbyNo1
    Offline

    USCRugbyNo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
  3. thetrue
    Offline

    thetrue New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    330
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0
    It will, BUT only if you use it in front of the camera or somehow bounce the signal. There are aftermarket remotes that plug in to the shutter release input jack. I can't think of any brands ATM though...
  4. Josh66
    Offline

    Josh66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,541
    Likes Received:
    1,212
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,212 / 0
  5. thetrue
    Offline

    thetrue New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    330
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0
    I believe OP wants wireless. I actually have that one and love the hell out of it with my 20' extension :)
  6. Josh66
    Offline

    Josh66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,541
    Likes Received:
    1,212
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,212 / 0
    Yeah, the wireless one that was linked to earlier should be fine for the OP.

    I prefer wired remotes too though, for the same reason you mentioned - I am almost never in front of the camera when I'm using a remote/cable release.
  7. thetrue
    Offline

    thetrue New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    330
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0
  8. paigew
    Online

    paigew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,739
    Likes Received:
    900
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +904 / 1
    I have the wireless remote from canon. Bought it on amazon for like 20$
  9. JOEFLY
    Offline

    JOEFLY New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
  10. USCRugbyNo1
    Offline

    USCRugbyNo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
  11. USCRugbyNo1
    Offline

    USCRugbyNo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I am correct with that assumption? The wireless is better than IR?
  12. thetrue
    Offline

    thetrue New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Likes Received:
    330
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bucks County, PA
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +330 / 0
    Yes, no line of sight required.

    Nice find JOEFLY.
  13. Josh66
    Offline

    Josh66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,541
    Likes Received:
    1,212
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,212 / 0
    Well, they're both 'wireless'. One is IR, the other is RF - either way, there are no wires (except for the wire going from the RF receiver to the camera body).

    RF is going to have much more range, and will also work through walls. IR, you basically have to point it right at the sensor on the front of the camera (or bounce the IR light off a wall or something).


    Really, the only down side I can see to the RF remotes it that you have to have the receiver hanging off your camera. That's not really a big deal, but it *could* be an issue in some situations, maybe... A little bit of velcro would probably solve any problems you might have with that...

    The RF remote is probably the most bang for your buck, because you can use it from pretty much anywhere. It has the advantages of a wired switch, without the disadvantages.
  14. Edsport
    Offline

    Edsport Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0
  15. USCRugbyNo1
    Offline

    USCRugbyNo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yea I looked on ebay. Does that use IR or wireless? By wireless I mean radio waves or whatever. Can be anywhere near the camera to control.
  16. Josh66
    Offline

    Josh66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    14,541
    Likes Received:
    1,212
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Cedar Hill, Texas
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,212 / 0
    Most of the remotes on that page are IR.

    Quick way you can tell from the picture - if it's IR, the remote is all there is. If it's RF, there will be a remote and a receiver that plugs into the camera. If they show two different units in the picture, it's RF.
  17. Edsport
    Offline

    Edsport Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +73 / 0
    All those shown on ebay is wireless...

Share This Page