Canon Xti

SanctuS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have a few questions about the Canon Xti.

First of all. Is there a significant difference between the Canon 30D and the Xti, and if there is, what are they.

Second of all. Does the Xti have a live LCD monitor, or is it like the 30D and its predecessors that only support reviewing the picture on the LCD.

Another question. I am relatively new to photography, and I want to get into digital photography for it's ease of use and not having to develop film, etc. Is this a good camera to get into digital photography or would a non-SLR camera do the job? Would there be any other digital SLR cameras that would be better while staying in the price range? I already own a Canon Rebel T2 and have 2 lenses that I might use for a digital SLR.

First of all. Is there a significant difference between the Canon 30D and the Xti, and if there is, what are they.
They are different levels of DSLR camera. The XTi is an entry level DSLR and is made to be small and light. This might be a benefit for you, or maybe not. The 30D (or 20D, 40D etc) are a mid level body, which is bigger and made with more metal and less plastic. The controls are generally easier to get at compared to the lower level bodies. Image quality should be quite close.

Second of all. Does the Xti have a live LCD monitor, or is it like the 30D and its predecessors that only support reviewing the picture on the LCD.
I don't think the XTi or the 30D have live view. Both models have been replaced, however, with the XSi and the 40D. I know that the 40D is live view able, but I'm unsure of the XSi. THIS page seems to say that it isn't.

Any of these cameras would be good for getting into digital photography. You could get a non-SLR digital camera, but you would most likely find it lacking, compared to your film SLR. And a DSLR (and lenses) are a much better investment.