Canon Zoom Lense Suggestions Needed!

ckeiner

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

My name is Corey and I am new to the world of photography and even newer to this sight so I apologize if this should go somewhere else. I also have searched for a while and haven't quite gotten the answer I'm looking for.

Here's the dilemma. I have a Canon Rebel K2 (SLR). I want to branch out into some more areas of photography and would like to know what suggestions there are for a good (but reasonably priced) zoom lens. From what I understand I think I'm looking for something up to 300mm/500mm range? I also have heard that if I do get a zoom lens and then get extension rings I will be able to dip into macro shots as well? Please correct me if I'm wrong.

I'm going to be using if for general purpose - landscapes / wildlife / live motion - anything that would be better off with a zoom lens. I also want to try some macro shots like up close flowers and bees etc.

I'd like to find a reasonable, good quality lens and save up for it rather than getting bad results from a very cheap lens, but I don't need the high end stuff either - Off brands would be an option too.

What do you think? Thanks for any advice I can get.

Well, it's better to take shots with a 'mediocre' lens now, than nothing with a good lens far off in the future.

Nobody buys a 500mm lens for general purpose shooting. I think you better nail down what exactly you like to shoot, and what focal lengths you need.

Finding one zoom lens to cover every focal lenght you'll ever need is not wise. It's just not going to be a good lens.

Extension tubes work best with prime lenses, specifically a 50mm.

Digital Matt said:
Nobody buys a 500mm lens for general purpose shooting. I think you better nail down what exactly you like to shoot, and what focal lengths you need.

Finding one zoom lens to cover every focal lenght you'll ever need is not wise. It's just not going to be a good lens.