• Mark iv

Votes: 5 83.3%

• Total voters

STR8SHOOTR

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm new to this forum and would like to say hello.

I have the first gen of the 7d and its time to go 5d. I take pictures for fun. I'm not a professional and want to upgrade. Should I spend the extra coin for the Mark iv or will I be happy with the mark iii? I would hate to buy the mark iii and regret my purchase. What do you think? What should I do?

Thanks, Todd

A friend who id respect his opinion went from a 3 to a 4 and says the 4 does everything better

Will your lenses work on the 5D's? The new 80d, and 77d are also pretty good upgrades on your 7d, and much cheaper.

Will your lenses work on the 5D's? The new 80d, and 77d are also pretty good upgrades on your 7d, and much cheaper.
Yes all my lenses will work and want to go to a full frame sensor.

If spending the money on the 4 is no big deal for you financially, go for it. If getting the 4 will break the bank then the 3 is the better choice.

I am a current 3 user and I rented the 4 for an event I had so shoot and frankly I wasn't all that impressed. Certainly not for the money.

I test shot the D800,D4, 5D-III, and D3x several years back....ALL were very, very impressive cameras. The 5D-III had a super feel in hand, and shot great too. I bet the IV is even better, but the III would likely be a very nice upgrade for anybdy coming from a lower-placed Canon model.

Welcome to the forum, I have owned the 5D3 for about 4 years and I love it, it take awesome photos feels good in my hands. I mostly do food/drinks/architectural now but I did shoot weddings back in the day. With that said I don't use the camera to its fullest potential, so for me a little bit upgrade the 4 is it would be enough for me to spend the extra money.

or will I be happy with the mark iii