Car photography------need help

Onefaststang

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey since my intrestest in cars i enjoy taking pics of my car and the car scence. I always see those amazing pics of cars and stuff and always wonder how they get the great pics. Also since i have a mac i have some photo editing options. I was wondering if any of u people have taken pics of cars and have any helpful hints and tips.

Here's an article written by a car photographer that gives a bit of insight on the basics. He talks about composition, selecting a background, exposure, etc. Good article for beginners.

Car Photography Tutorial

I have been photographing cars for a few years now. Biggest thing is experience, just keep going out and shooting. The most difficult part is choosing the location and time of the day. Mid-day sun will kill all the curves and make paint look flat and bright. Try shooting either in the morning or in the evening before the sun has come down. If only time available is mid-day, then try to find some shade. I personally love some of the shots I've taken at night. There you either need flash, light painting, or just use light thats already there (street lamp, windows, etc.)
Walk around the car and find details that make it stand out, if the car is long, you may want to try to capture that in your photograph. If the car is low, shoot from up high so it looks even lower. Just the opposite goes for a lifted truck.