CC - First DSLR

Tbo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey all just got my first DSLR today. I have some photoshop experience but I would appreciate some c and c. Thanks guys and gals.

Rio1.jpg

soy.jpg

The contrast looked a little blown out because of the flash (even though I still like the color) so I changed it to B&W and it looks ok.

soy2.jpg

thebash.jpg

Its focused on his right paw but it turned out ok anyways.

I wouldn't worry about Photoshop right now. I would work on composition and focusing. The first one is OOF. The second (color and BW), you missed the eyes, instead focusing the nose. The last one is the best composition-wise, but you chopped the dogs paw and missed the eye (like you said).

The shutter speed is too slow and you may be getting to close for the lens to focus because there is a minimum distance

I am new to DSLR as well but I think with dogs and people try to focus on their eyes and watch out for your DOF if you want their whole head to be in focus.

Thanks a lot for the advice. The second one I didn't mean to focus on the nose but I am kind of glad I did because that's were all of the personality in the photo is (I had his ball and he was pissed, this is right before he barks). Again thanks for the advice I appreciate it.

Thanks a lot for the advice. The second one I didn't mean to focus on the nose but I am kind of glad I did because that's were all of the personality in the photo is (I had his ball and he was pissed, this is right before he barks). Again thanks for the advice I appreciate it.

The problem with the nose in focus is that the eyes are much more centered in the picture, so you are more drawn to them. Also, eyes in general are a better focal point.

The composition in the first shot just isn't right, and the focus is off.

The last picture is good, but a little underexposed.

Nice dogs