Central Minnesota (7) - Suggestions / critiques welcome!

kc0ltv

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Here's the set:

1. Part of the campground. I don't think this picture is especially good, but I think the trees in the background are kind of dull. I face this problem all the time when shooting in forests....can anybody help me here?

23u9yj5.jpg

#2: Middle Cullen Lake, near sunset. I ran into it while going the wrong way on a bike ride. It's one of hundreds, if not thousands of lakes in the area.

23u9zfd.jpg

#3: More Middle Cullen lake.

23ua1k9.jpg

#4: The swampy part of the lake.

23ua249.jpg

#5: See #4

23ua2w2.jpg

#6 - Typical road. Where I ended my bike ride and turned around:

23ua4xw.jpg

#7: Just a ring of trees.

23ua5ft.jpg

Which is your favorite? Please comment on them!

Well I'm no expert so ignore me if you like, but i have nothing better to do at 3.00 in the morning. :lol:

1. Seems a bit boring to me, theres nothing in it.
2. I quite like it, but it's blown out (correct term?) which I also do alot :(
3.My favourite :D I would have got lower personally but still I like it :D
4.I like this one also. The reflections in the water are great :D
5 and 6. Dunno what to say.
7. Quite like this one but would have been ace if the sun was behin the trees.

nitefly said:
Well I'm no expert so ignore me if you like, but i have nothing better to do at 3.00 in the morning. :lol:

1. Seems a bit boring to me, theres nothing in it.

I know :). I posted it because I was curious about the problem I mentioned.

kc0ltv said:
Here's the set:
... I think the trees in the background are kind of dull. I face this problem all the time when shooting in forests....can anybody help me here?

It looks like the leaves are a bit overexposed. The camera doesn't have the dynamic range to record everything in a scene like that. It looks like you exposed for the areas in shadow so everything in direct sunlight is overexposed.