CF card makes any difference?

Val

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Does card speed have any effect on shooting speed? As far as i understand it all goes into the camera buffer.

Im thinking of getting Extrem III instead of IV for bigger size. III is still pretty fast but i can go upto 16GB and forget about any more cards.

Hi There. I am no expert, but I believe that even though the data is run through the camera buffer, you still need to empty the buffer, which is where the speed of the card comes in. If you shoot single frame shots then the speed isn't as important as if you were trying to take multiple shots as fast as the camera can.

As far as the card size, I would be concerned about having all my eggs in one basket. If that card fails and it is full, that is a lot of images to loose.

Just my two cents.

Cheers

My understanding is that only extremely slow cards will slow you down while shooting... but that extremely fast cards unload much faster once back at home. If you've ever waited 15 minutes for 80-90 shots to come off your CF card, you know how valuable that time could be :)

Some of the newest high end cameras can utilize the faster cards to empty the buffer faster. Also, several smaller cards as safer in my opinion than 1 or 2 big cards. This has been discussed at length before. You might want to search the threads to see more opinions on this.

If you want to shoot your camera like a machine gun...then a faster card would be an advantage. If not, then I wouldn't pay a lot more for the 'fastest' card.

As mentioned, off load speed will probably be faster, and that may or may not be an issue for you.

Also, I have noticed that with slower cards, it takes longer to bring up images when reviewing them on the LCD...again, this may or may not be an issue for you.

Extreme III cards are pretty fast in their own right.