Cheap batteries / chargers harmful?

ecphoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been using cheap Chinese made batteries on my Camera and grip for about a year now. I own 6 of them in total.
Today I was browsing the canon website and I noticed this huge advert and fancy video about counterfeit batteries being harmful to your camera.
I can't afford $80 per battery so I buy the cheap HK made ones from ebay. I'm just wondering if anyone else has had bad experiences with them or
if its just hype. I've never bought the cheap chargers though, anyone know how well those work out?

I've been using 'off brand' batteries in my cameras for many years. They are cheaper, usually with a higher rating (last longer) and did I mention they are cheaper? But I have found that they tend to lose their ability to hold a charge as well as they used to a few years ago. But for $12.99 (or whatever they were) it's not a big deal.

Of course, Canon/Nikon etc. are going to say that you shouldn't use off-brand batteries...and there is, of course, some amount of risk involved.

But here is the big thing to know. Off-brand batteries are usually OK...but watch out for COUNTERFEIT batteries. In other words, if it cost $10 and is says "Canon" on it...then it's probably counterfeit...and since they are already crossing the line into fraud, they probably don't care much about quality or safety etc. Whereas the regular off-brand batteries still want to make a good name for themselves, so they probably won't give you something without any quality control etc.

So my advice is: Off Brand is OK...but beware of counterfeit.